IB Schools Australasia

Location Heathmont, Victoria, Australia
Website https://ibaustralasia.org
Email [email protected]
Phone +61 (0) 407 325 735
Fax -

IB Schools Australasia (formerly AAIBS) was established specifically to assist schools in Australasia, providing a network of professional support, information and service.

The Association also organises annual professional learning events, advertises employment opportunities within our member schools and produces a newsletter and a variety of support materials.

The purposes of IB Schools Australasia are:

  • To support the goals and objectives of the International Baccalaureate Organisation and the IB World Schools in Australasia.
  • To provide support for the International Baccalaureate programmes in Australasian IB World Schools.
  • To facilitate communication among International Baccalaureate schools in Australasia.
  • To liaise on behalf of IB Schools Australasia member schools with the Ministries of Education and with professional educational organisations in Australasia.
  • To act upon request or when deemed necessary so as to promote the recognition of the International Baccalaureate Diploma as a qualification for entry to universities in Australasia.
  • To support the professional development programmes of the International Baccalaureate in particular those sponsored by the International Baccalaureate originating in member schools.
  • To promote research into the benefits of the International Baccalaureate programme and examinations.

The income and property of IB Schools Australasia (formerly AAIBS) shall be applied solely in furtherance of its purposes and no portion shall be distributed directly or indirectly except as compensation for services rendered or expenses incurred on behalf of the Association.

Who can IB Schools Australasia support?

Throughout our history we have been proud to support schools in Australia, New Zealand, Fiji and Papua New Guinea.

We were recently approached by the IB to support some candidate schools in the South West Pacific.

With our constitution stating:

“Australasian” shall mean Australia and adjacent islands of the South West Pacific

We are pleased to confirm that should the need arise we look forward to supporting all adjacent islands of the South West Pacific including:

American Samoa, Cook Islands, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Wallis and Futuna Islands.